August 18, 2022

Vauxhall is the Dunlop MSA British Touring Car Championship 2007 Driver and Manufacturer Champions after one the most thrilling finales of all time.

With just one point separating Vauxhall’s Fabrizio Giovanardi and SEAT’s Jason Plato going into the last race at Thruxton both teams had everything to play for.

Giovanardi made a meteoric start to pass Plato off the grid before making up more places into a hectic first corner.

In a crucial move Tom Chilton also got past Plato in the opening laps to put Vauxhall in a strong position with the entire race still to go.

VX Racing fans held their breath as Plato made up ground over the 16 laps, but in the end it was not enough to keep Giovanardi and Vauxhall, the BTCC’s most successful manufacturer of the modern era, away from title honours.

Fabrizio Giovanardi #5: “This is my eighth touring car championship and I think it’s one of the best battles I’ve made in my life.

“Thank you to everybody in my team, my car, my team-mate, the people coming to watch. It was an amazing championship.

“I would also like to thank Plato; I am very glad to have at my side Jason who has been a great challenger.”

Alain Menu #88: “I’m very pleased for Vauxhall. I did the job I was asked to do this weekend and had a really great time. It was really great to drive for the team again.”

Ian Harrison, Team Principal: “It’s great! We nicked it by the skin of our teeth. One point is as good as one thousand though! We’ve made some mistakes throughout the season but luckily we haven’t paid for it. It’s fantastic for everyone, for Vauxhall, VX Racing and Triple Eight.”

BTCC Provisional Round 30 Race Result

1. Mat Jackson (BMW 320si)
2. Fabrizio Giovanardi (Vauxhall Vectra)
3. Tom Chilton (Vauxhall Vectra)
4. Jason Plato (SEAT Leon)
5. Matt Neal (Honda Civic)
6. Darren Turner (SEAT Leon)
7. Adam Jones (SEAT Toledo)
8. Tom Coronel (SEAT Leon)
12. Alain Menu (Vauxhall Vectra)